Rise Above

By: Katelyn Nowobilski

You are no better than I

Though the comments and looks may make you feel otherwise

In your eyes I begged, pleaded, tried

And you have no idea

How much I begged, pleaded, tried to get away

 

And you would do the same

And you have no idea the shame I felt

Or the guilt

Or the disgust

And that was enough

 

I have decided to rise above

Not because I am better

But because I know better

 

I am not deserving of the shame or glances

I am not deserving of pity or hollow apologies

I am not deserving of your false accusations

And I am in no way deserving of the blame for someone else’s crime against me

 

I deserve and am worthy of love

I deserve and am worthy of acceptance

I deserve and am worthy of freedom from my past

I deserve and am worthy of comfort in my own skin

 

I am free from your judgement

Free from your lies

Free from your blame

And I will not be ashamed of my past

Because I know and understand this as truth

And because most importantly I know that you are no better than I

 

Leave a Reply

